Violated. Betrayed. Pfft. Rising.

Standard

2017 is off to a less than stellar start. After spending several wonderful days with my sister and her extended family on the Oregon coast, I returned to work today to find that a coworker has complained that I get preferential treatment because I have a flex schedule to accommodate weekly doctors’ appointments for my chronic depression, traumatic brain injury and (latest addition) ADHD. A doctors’ note will put this to rights yet I am annoyed that a colleague would first of all have an issue and secondly then tell our HR that I “don’t really have any disability.” It’s a problem many with ‘invisible’ disabilities face, but this is the first time I’ve had it smack me in the face like this.

And then mid-morning my housemate called, upset. She did not have work today, ran out to do a couple of errands and came back to find the front door kicked in and cash and gift cards stolen. The police were called. Evidence collected. The door frame repaired thanks to a handy brother. The house was not ransacked–hinting that the burglar knew where the cash was hidden. It doesn’t really matter. The fact is, somebody felt that they had the right to break in.

It’s only the second day of the year.

And so while I could wallow in betrayal and violation–because these instances are serious occurrences– I will not. I will not allow a petty, bitter person to steal my joy. I will not allow someone bent on vengeance take my peace.  As a dear friend says “They throw rocks at things that shine.” I will not allow my shine to dull. I lift my head and I continue on my journey, more determined than ever to Rise. To Create. To Love. To Live Ferociously.

3 thoughts on “Violated. Betrayed. Pfft. Rising.

  1. Take care and stand tall. The abelism is so irritating, as is the fact that someone you likely knew decided to violate your space and steal from you. I relate on both accounts all too well.

    Like

  2. ohthecrownshewears

    Well, hopefully all of the tragic events that are gong to happen in your 2017 are already done. You should have some way happier days ahead of you. Jealousy is an evil characteristic to have. Just keep on doing you and your productivity and good attitude will shine through. I’m thankful for you that you have a good brother to help out!

    -Abigayle

    Like

Leave a Reply

