This is Funny. But it also isn’t.

Standard

Here is a video that has shown up in my various social media feeds a few times over the past couple of years. It’s funny. No, really, it is. Even though I am the ex-wife of a gay man, one who was fooled for 20 years, I can definitely see the humor in this. It is also making a point I fully believe in–it really doesn’t matter what your religious beliefs are–even if they are that marriage should be between a man and a woman. By denying homosexuals the right to marry, you are guaranteeing that unwitting straight men and women will be in false marriages. Also, my personal opinion, even if it is “against God” that is between God and the individuals in question–not for you and not for me to say.

I debated linking this on the Facebook page of the Straight Spouse Network, but didn’t because I realized that some followers there are at different stages of their journey with this particular issue and it might be hurtful. It wouldn’t be difficult for me to allow this to move me to irritation and hurt–but I am actually beyond that and to allow it would be a step backwards.

If you have stumbled upon this blog post in a search for information about gay spouses, please check out the Straight Spouse Network. At the very least you will realize you are not alone.

If you are seeing this and are vehemently opposed to gay marriage–please; stop and think about the ramifications of what you are saying. There are so many more people involved. Continuing to (in my opinion wrongly) discriminate against gay marriage is incredibly harmful.

And if you just think this video short is funny–well, you’re right. It is.

 

Leave a Reply

